ITM Cup Provincial Unions select crossover matches for 2016


Thursday, October 29, 2015    ITM Cup

New Zealand Rugby will now begin work on the ITM Cup draw for 2016 which will be completed over the coming months.

Next season's ITM Cup will kick-off on Thursday 18 August 2016 with finals on 28 & 29 October 2016.


Automatic Selection Round

With 2015 final positions determining the seeding order for the next season, this round was automatically selected on seeding order whereby the team seeded first in the Premiership will play the team seeded seventh in the Championship, the team seeded second in the Premiership play the team seeded sixth in the Championship, and so on. 

These games will be home games for the Championship teams as follows:
• Northland v Canterbury
• Southland v Auckland
• North Harbour v Tasman
• Bay of Plenty v Taranaki
• Otago v Counties Manukau
• Wellington v Waikato
• Manawatu v Hawke’s Bay

Provincial Union Selection Rounds

Championship teams chose Premiership opponents for Championship home games, in reverse seeding order:
• Northland v Waikato
• Southland v Hawke’s Bay
• North Harbour v Counties Manukau
• Bay of Plenty v Auckland
• Otago v Tasman
• Wellington v Taranaki
• Manawatu v Canterbury

Crossover Selection 2
Premiership teams chose Championship opponents for Premiership home games, in seeding order:
• Canterbury v Otago
• Auckland v Northland
• Tasman v Southland
• Taranaki v Manawatu
• Counties Manukau v Bay of Plenty
• Waikato v North Harbour
• Hawke’s Bay v Wellington

Crossover Selection 3
Championship teams chose Premiership opponents for Premiership home games, in seeding order:
• Manawatu v Waikato
• Wellington v Counties Manukau
• Otago v Auckland
• Bay of Plenty v Hawke’s Bay
• North Harbour v Canterbury
• Southland v Taranaki
• Northland v Tasman


The key features of the ITM Cup format for 2016 are:

• The 14 teams are divided into two divisions of seven teams (referred to as the Premiership and the Championship), based on finishing position in the 2015 ITM Cup (teams finishing 1-7 will form the Premiership, teams finishing 8-14 will form the Championship);
• In 2016 the ITM Cup will be conducted over an 11 week period and involve:
o One midweek match (with the hosts of the midweek games in 2015 playing their midweek game away in 2016); and for each division, semifinals and a final
o Each team will play every other team in its division once and four crossover matches (in which a team from the Premiership plays a team from the Championship), thus playing 10 competition matches
o All competition matches carry full competition points
o The Ranfurly Shield is automatically contested when the holder of the shield (currently Waikato) plays at home in any round (excluding semis and final)
o The winning team in the final of the Championship will participate in the Premiership in the following year, and the last placed team in the Premiership will participate in the Championship in the following year.

The seedings for the ITM Cup 2016 are as follows:

1. Canterbury
2. Auckland
3. Tasman
4. Taranaki
5. Counties Manukau
6. Waikato
7. Hawke’s Bay

1. Manawatu
2. Wellington
3. Otago
4. Bay of Plenty
5. North Harbour
6. Southland
7. Northland