Local stars boost Turbos for Mitre 10 Cup

Getty Images

Tuesday, July 19, 2016    Manawatu    Getty Images

Liam Hallam-Eames (OBM), Curtis Reid (COB), Tukiterangi Raimona (OBM), Travis Taylor (Feilding), Tim Cadwallader (COB) and Harrison Brewer (Te Kawau) have all been newly contracted for the 2016 season.


“These boys have really showed commitment and determination in club rugby during the season and thoroughly deserve an opportunity to step up and show what they can achieve in the Mitre 10 Cup competition,” said Cotter. “We will name a few players that will be brought in for a four-week period prior to the competition commencing to provide cover for Super Rugby players that may not be back in Palmerston North until close to the competition starting."

The squad will assemble on the 21st July. With pre-season games to be played against Hawke’s Bay in Napier on Saturday 30th July and against Wellington at Johnston Park on Sunday 7th August, the team will go into camp in Nelson for five days before playing Tasman in the last pre-season match on Friday 12th August.

The competition commences for the Turbos on Friday 19th August when they are up against Northland in Whangarei. The second game of the competition on Friday 26th August is the first home against Southland and will be played in front of the 1976-78 Ranfurly Shield team who are in Palmerston North for a reunion that weekend.

CEO, John Knowles said he was delighted with the talent that has emerged through a pretty competitive Club rugby season.

“There is a great deal of depth in playing stocks in Manawatu at present and our two High Schools, Palmerston North Boys’ High and Feilding High School keep developing the next future recruits. I am delighted for players like Travis Taylor and Tim Cadwallader who have been around our environment for some time, come up through the Manawatu Academy and continued to push for an opportunity to play for the Turbos. While Tim was in the squad in 2014, both players have shown patience and commitment.”

Some very tough decisions have been made by coaches Cotter and Archibald to reach their selected squad.

“There is sufficient depth in most positions to cover injuries from our local pool of players,” said Cotter.

“I really feel for Mark Atkins. We had only just contracted him two days before his injury following a good performance against Whanganui. Mark is showing plenty of character in managing this mishap and will work hard to get back out on the pitch as soon as he is able.”

Nehe Milner-Skudder is not expected to be ready to play again until late September, and his return to play will be determined by the All Black medical team. It is anticipated that Aaron Cruden and Aaron Smith will be named in the All Blacks for the Investec Rugby Championship and will not be available for the Turbos.

2016 Manawatu Turbos
Ambrose Curtis (OBM),
Antonio Kiri Kiri (OBM),
Callum Gibbins (Varsity)
Chris Eves (Kia Toa)
Curtis Reid (COB)
Fraser Armstrong (OBM)
Hamish Northcott (Varsity)
Harrison Brewer (Te Kawau)
Heiden Bedwell-Curtis (Feilding Yellows)
Hunter Prescott (OBM)
Jackson Hemopo (Kia Toa)
Jamie Booth (Varsity)
Jason Emery (Kia Toa)
Kane Thompson (TBC)
Kayne Hammington (Feilding Yellows)
Liam Hallam-Eames (OBM)
Luther Hirini (FOBO)
Michael Alaalatoa (FOB Oroua)
Nathan Tudreu (Kia Toa)
Newton Tudreu (Kia Toa)
Ngani Laumape (Kia Toa)
Otere Black (COB)
Sam Malcolm (Varsity)
Tim Cadwallader (COB)
Toby Morland (Te Kawau)
Tom Parsons (Te Kawau)
Travis Taylor (Feilding Yellows)
Tukiterangi Raimona (OBM)
Valentino Mapapalangi (Kia Toa)

Aaron Cruden (COB)
Aaron Smith (Feilding Yellows)

Not available due to injury: Mark Atkins (OBM), Nehe Milner-Skudder (Varsity)