Waikato and Auckland set for 2016 final rematch

Getty Images

Wednesday, September 13, 2017    Getty Images

Waikato set up a repeat of the 2016 premiership final with a hard fought 27-20 victory over North Harbour in today’s semifinal.

They will again face Auckland who looked strong in a 44-10 victory over Canterbury. Former New Zealand Schools first five-eighth Harry Plummer scored 29 of his team’s points.

These teams met in the 2016 final, accurate kicking from Waikato securing the title in 25-22 thriller.

Counties Manukau were strong in their championship semifinal victory over Hawke’s Bay, winning 20-3. They will be aiming for their third Michael Jones Trophy in as many years when they meet Southland in the final.

Inaugural Michael Jones Trophy winners Southland have advanced to the final by way of a 36-8 win over Heartland. It’s a marked improvement from their 16th placing in 2016.

Day Two Results
Play off matches
Tasman 38 – Wellington 26
Bay of Plenty 54 – Manawatu 7
Otago 52 – Northland 9
Taranaki 34 - Auckland Development 26

Michael Jones Trophy
Counties Manukau 20 - Hawkes Bay 3
Southland 36 – Heartland 8

Graham Mourie Cup
Waikato 27 - North Harbour 20
Auckland 44 – Canterbury 10

Day Three Draw
Play off matches
10.45am Northland v Auckland Development (15th/16th)
12pm Hawke’s Bay v Heartland (11th/12th)*
12.30pm Otago v Taranaki (13th/14th)
1.40pm North Harbour v Canterbury (3rd/4th)*
2.15pm Wellington v Manawatu (7th/8th)
4pm Tasman v Bay of Plenty (5th/6th)

Michael Jones Trophy Final

3.20pm Counties Manukau v Southland*

Graham Mourie Cup Final

5pm Waikato v Auckland*

*Matches to be broadcast on SKY

For live scores, photos and news from the tournament, follow the National Under 19s Facebook page.