STATCHAT: The leading players in the Mitre 10 Cup

Getty Images

Monday, October 16, 2017    Getty Images

In the try-scoring stakes, North Harbour’s Tevita Li shot to the top of the list with five tries against Taranaki in the final round. Li heads the pack on 11 tries with impressive Canterbury wing Braydon Ennor second on 10 tries and electric Otago youngster Jona Nareki third on nine tries. Interestingly, Wellington front rowers Alex Fidow and Asafo Aumua sit in fourth-equal with seven tries each. 


Three players have broken the 100-point barrier so far this year with Canterbury’s Richie Mo’unga out in front on 135 points. Otago’s first five-eighth is second on 110 points with Wellington’s Jackson Garden-Bachop just one point back.

Fullback George Bridge has been a standout for Canterbury this season and that is reflected on the statistics with Bridge leading the metres ran (912), carries (112) and defenders beaten (45) ladders.

Northland’s Solomon Alaimalo is another to featuring strongly in the attacking stats. The slippery outside back is second only to Bridge in defenders beaten, in the top five for offloads and is fourth on the metres ran list with 755 metres.

Although his side has been demoted to the Championship, Sevu Reece features prominently for Waikato. He is second on the list for most carries, third for clean breaks and has effected more offloads than any other player in the competition with 29.
Another Waikato player features prominently at lineout time with James Tucker securing 44 lineout takes. Bay of Plenty pair Keepa Mewett and Tom Franklin are second and third on the list respectively.

Bay of Plenty workhorse Hugh Blake heads the list of most tackles made with 115 and has the opportunity to extend his lead even further this weekend against Otago in the Championship semifinal.

The Duane Monkley Player of the Year Medal has been an exciting addition to the Mitre 10 Cup this year with the best performing players awarded three, two or one points in every fixture. After round eight, Northland midfielder Jack Goodhue led the standings on 14 points with Canterbury’s Braydon Ennor on nine points and Taranaki’s Stephen Perofeta on eight points.

From round nine onwards, the Duane Monkley leaderboard has been kept secret to until the winner is announced at the ASB Rugby Awards.

Jack Goodhue will need to keep his hot form going over the playoffs with plenty of players nipping at his heels to take out the inaugural Duane Monkley Medal.

Find a list of all Mitre 10 Cup statistics HERE.