The race for the Monkley and Fa’amausili Medals

Getty Images

Tuesday, October 9, 2018    Getty Images

The medals are awarded to the player of the year in both competitions at the ASB Rugby Awards in December, with points accumulated on a three, two and one point basis following every game.


A leader board was made public until round seven for the Mitre 10 Cup and round four for the Farah Palmer Cup.

At the round seven mark, Canterbury lock Luke Romano, Northland first five-eighth Jack Debreczeni and Waikato flyer Sevu Reece were all tied for top spot on the Duane Monkley Medal leader board on nine points. North Harbour loose forward Dillon Hunt was in second place on eight points while Tasman halfback Finlay Christie was third on seven points. Three players were tied in fourth spot on six points. They are Tasman veteran Wyatt Crockett, Otago speedster Jona Nareki and Auckland fullback Melani Nanai. Nanai has an advantage on other players in that Auckland plays two games in the final round, which means that Nanai could have a maximum of four games left to accumulate points (two regular season games and a semifinal and final should Auckland progress to the final match).
In the Farah Palmer Cup, Hawke’s Bay pivot Krysten Cottrell led the Fiao’o Fa’amausili leader board after four rounds on 10 points. Cottrell has been in fine form since switching to the Tui and has formed a seamless inside-halves partnership with veteran Emma Jensen.

Wellington Pride standout Jackie Patea-Fereti was in second place on eight points - two points behind Cottrell.

From there it was a further two points back to a four-way tie for third place. Ariana Bayler (Waikato), Greer Muir (Otago), Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury) and Ruahei Demant (Auckland) were all on six points but only a couple of good performances away from catching Cottrell at the top of the ladder.

The final round of the Mitre 10 Cup kicks off on Wednesday night while the Farah Palmer Cup moves into semifinal mode on the weekend. Tune in to see who presses their claims for player of the year honours.

The medals were first introduced in 2017 with Jack Goodhue scooping the Duane Monkley Medal and Hazel Tubic taking out the Fiao’o Fa'amausili Medal.