Mitre 10 Cup Review - Week 2

Getty Images

Sunday, August 18, 2019    Lynn McConnell    Getty Images

Auckland, who drew their first round game, are in second place while Counties Manukau have slipped into third as a result of Waikato's loss to Bay of Plenty.

In the Mitre 10 Championship, Bay of Plenty and Taranaki are the only sides with two wins with the Bay one point ahead on bonus points. Third place is held by Hawke's Bay who drew with Wellington.

Northland 10 Auckland 43

The improved Auckland side, who won the title last year, held too many aces for their franchise partners in the Whangarei game to open the second round. Too much speed and continuity, not to forget the sheer power of players like midfielder Tanielu Tele'a, whose try was one to cause defenders nightmares with the strength of his body blast, for the Northland side.

Scorers: Northland 10 (Pisi Leilua try; Jack Debreczeny con, pen) Auckland 43 (Jack Whetton, Caleb Clarke, Jamie Lane, AJ Lam, Tanielu Tele'a, TJ Faiane tries; D'Angelo Leuila 4 con, pen; Daniel Kirkpatrick con). HT: 3-24

North Harbour 25 Counties Manukau 39

Counties Manukau turned on the power, front and back, to beat North Harbour in Albany with wing Chris Kuridrani getting across the line twice, a feat repeated by home wing Matt Duffie. But it was the ability to produce the goods up front at crucial stages that set up Counties Manukau for their first win between the two sides since 2013.

Scorers: North Harbour 25 (Mark Telea, Matt Duffie 2, Lotu Inisi tries; Jared Page con, pen) Counties Manukau 39 (Conan O'Donnell, Kali Hala, Chris Kuridrani 2, penalty try tries; Riley Hohepa 3 con, 2 pen). HT: 15-22

Hawke's Bay 27 Wellington 27

Wellington arrived in Napier with the dazzle and scored some outstanding tries, especially those to centre Vince Aso and wing Kemara Hauiti-Parapara, but the prize of the day went to prop Xavier Numia who showed electric pace for one from his position to score. But Hawke's Bay stuck to the more basic approach and showed the value of solid forward play with some of their early tries but then in the run home they opened the after-burners and Danny Toala and Caleb Makene demonstrated the running qualities Hawke's Bay possess to achieve a draw.

Scorers: Hawke's Bay 27 (Brendon O'Connor, Tom Parsons, Danny Toala, Caleb Makene tries; Lincoln McClutchie 2 con, pen) Wellington 27 (Teariki Ben-Nicholas, Vince Aso, Kemara Hauiti-Parapara, Xavier Numia tries; Jackson Garden-Bachop 2 con, pen). HT: 12-17

Manawatu 10 Taranaki 13

It was a rare sight in Palmerston North with pools of water covering the ground and the rugby reflected it. The home team scored two good tries with skills making light of the conditions but a penalty try and Daniel Waite's goal-kicking boot was enough for Taranaki to get the win.

Scorers: Manawatu 10 (Ben Werthmuller, Jamie Booth tries) Taranaki 13 (Penalty try; Daniel Waite 2 pen). HT: 10-3

Otago v Southland

Time and the respective fortunes of the old southern rivals Otago and Southland may have changed but the two Championship sides produced a sterling Ranfurly Shield contest in Dunedin. Otago, at times looking like rugby's equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters, with an outstanding try scored by No.8 Dylan Nel, were too strong. However, Southland with two classic forward tries and a superb reward for following a high kick for Josh Moorby, contributed to a game that suggested Southland may not be much longer without an overdue win.

Scorers: Otago 41 (Jona Nareki 2, Slade McDowall, Dylan Nel, Josh Dickson, Rowan Gouws tries; Vilimoni Koroi 4 con, pen) Southland 22 (Josh Moorby, Charles Alaimalo, Bill Fukofuka tries; Marty McKenzie 2 con, pen). HT: 17-3

Canterbury 8 Tasman 23

Turning on a powerful forward display Tasman shut the home team down in an impressive first quarter with tries to centre Levi Aumua and a dazzling solo try to wing Leicester Fainga'anuku down the left flank beating tackle after tackle all within inches of the sideline. Canterbury's solitary response was a pick-up by Josh McKay at a breakdown on Canterbury's line that saw him run away down field to score his own breakout try.

Scorers: Canterbury 8 (Josh McKay try; Brett Cameron pen) Tasman 23 (Levi Aumua, Leicester Fainga'anuku, Shannon Frizell tries; Mitch Hunt con, 2 pen). HT: 3-18

Bay of Plenty 40 Waikato 14

Bay of Plenty turned it on in front of the Rotorua faithful, not least at a powerful scrum resulting in their first try. But it was the all-around commitment front and back that left Waikato scrambling to stay in touch. Richard Judd organised his backline well from halfback while Joe Ravouvou scored a scorching try. Waikato's centre Quinn Tupaea demonstrated his class with two tries, but it wasn't enough.

Scorers: Bay of Plenty 40 (Richard Judd, Ross Geldenhuys, Joe Ravouvou, Emoni Narawa, Chase Tiatia tries; Dan Hollinshead 3 con, 3 pen) Waikato 14 (Quinn Tupaea 2 tries; Fletcher Smith 2 con). HT: 22-14