Mitre 10 Cup Review - Week 5

Getty Images

Sunday, September 8, 2019    Lynn McConnell    Getty Images

Tasman have 24 points in the Championship but Wellington on 16 and Auckland, North Harbour and Waikato are all on 14 points.

Hawke's Bay are unbeaten in the Championship with 23 points, seven clear of Bay of Plenty with Otago third on 15 and Taranaki on 14.

The individual try scoring has three players, Canterbury's Josh McKay, Hawke's Bay's Ash Dixon and Otago's Jona Nareki on six tries each while Waikato's Fletcher Smith heads in the individual points scoring with 52 points with Bay of Plenty's Dan Hollinshead and Taranaki's Daniel Waite on 50 points each.

Results were:

Manawatu v Northland

It was difficult to believe that Manawatu had been winless before this effort notable for sweeping backline movements which were executed with telling speed and efficiency from deep in their own territory. Wing Andre Taylor got two of them, the second being the result of a chip in-goal but the rest, including those scored by flanker Johnny Galloway and halfback Jamie Booth, were outstanding efforts. Northland were not to be outdone and halfback Sam Nock might never have a better chance for a blindside break than he had to open his side's scoring while fullback Scott Gregory's pace ensured a loser's bonus point.

Scorers: Manawatu 31 (Andre Taylor 2, Johnny Galloway, Jamie Booth tries; Otere Black 4 con pen) Northland 25 (Sam Nock, Ross Wright, Scott Gregory tries; Jack Debreczeni 2con, 2 pen). HT: 24-10

Hawke's Bay v Southland

Desperate to secure a win Southland had no sympathy from a determined Hawke's Bay combination in Napier. It was typical of the Southerners lack of luck that an attacking move of their own resulted in a goalline turnover which saw Hawke's Bay score at the other end. The home side also picked up three tries courtesy of their driving lineout maul, two of them to hooker Ash Dixon, while they were quick to put their backs into space, first five-eighths Lincoln McClutchie and midfielder Danny Toala being especially effective. Wing Isaac Te Tamaki scored twice for Southland.

Scorers: Hawke's Bay 41 (Gareth Evans, Ash Dixon 2, Danny Toala, Brendon O'Connor, Lincoln McClutchie, Jason Long tries; Danny Toala 2con, McClutchie con) Southland 23 (Isaac Te Tamaki 2, Josh Moorby tries; Marty McKenzie con, 2 pen). HT: 17-6

Counties Manukau v Tasman

Continuing to play their compelling style of rugby, Tasman had too much speed and support for Counties Manukau in Pukekohe. Fullback Will Jordan's pace saw him score the first two tries. Wing Leicester Faing'anuku was followed by hookers Levi Aumua and Hugh Roach in an effort that kept the home team scoreless. It is the ability of backs and forwards to use the ball, run hard and handle superbly that has the Tasman side proving so hard to stop.

Scorers: Counties Manukau
0 Tasman 36 (Will Jordan 2, Leicester Faing'anuku, Levi Aumua, Hugh Roach tries; Mitchell Hunt 3 con, pen; Tim O'Malley con). HT: 0-24

North Harbour v Waikato

When Waikato got out to a 28-12 lead at Albany over there was every reason North Harbour were done and dusted with 30 minutes remaining. That was especially considering the tries scored by wing Bailyn Sullivan,hooker Samisoni Taukei'aho, centre Quinn Tupaea and first five-eighths Fletcher Smith. But North Harbour stormed home after two earlier stunning tries to wing Mark Telea. First it was loose forward urphy Taramai, then hooker Luteru Tolai and miefield James Little who made the most of a superb break by flanker Dillon Hunt before a fulltime cracker scored by first five-eighths Matt McGahan which levelled the scores. Then McGahan sealed the game with a conversion from wide out.

Scorers: North Harbour 38 (Mark Telea 2, Murphy Taramai, Luteru Tolai, James Little, Matt McGahan tries; McGahan 4 con) Waikato 36 (Bailyn Sullivan, Samisoni Taukei'aho 2, Quinn Tupaea, Fletcher Smith tries; Smith 4 con, pen). HT: 12-21

Bay of Plenty v Wellington

Discipline proved crucial for Wellington who had only one try to their credit, a lovely catch of a lobbed kick in his direction to second five-eighths Peter Umaga-Jensen, by the cool-header first five-eighths Jackson Garden-Bachop. With three penalty goals, Garden-Bachop punished the home team who had looked likely with halfback Richard Judd burrowing across for his try while a couple of tackle breaking runs, first by centre Joe Webber and then by try scorer wing Emoni Narawa gave Bay every chance. But a missed conversion attempt and a dropped goal attempt charged down denied Bay of Plenty.

Scorers: Bay of Plenty
15 (Richard Judd, Emoni Narawa tries; Dan Hollinshead con, pen) Wellington 16 (Peter Umaga-Jensen try; Jackson Garden-Bachop con, 3 pen). HT: 10-9

Auckland v Canterbury

Canterbury were desperate to end their poor start to the competition at Eden Park and they struck first when halfback Billy Harmon scored the first of his two tries and while Auckland replied, midfielder Dallas McLeod got over just before halftime to really turn the pressure on the home team and defending champions. Harmon scored his second 10 minutes into the second half and while flanker Blake Gibson and fullback Salesi Rayasi scored for Auckland, Canterbury sealed the deal 13 minutes from time when halfback Ereatara Enari scored.

Scorers: Auckland
22 (Akira Ioane, Blake Gibson, Salesi Rayasi tries; Harry Plummer 2 con, pen) Canterbury 32 (Billy Harmon 2, Dallas McLeod, Ereatara Enari tries; Brett Cameron 2 con, 2 pen; Fergus Burke con). HT: 10-20

Otago v Taranaki

Not many gave Otago a chance of retaining the Ranfurly Shield but tries either side of halftime to wing Jona Nareki and first five-eighths Vilimoni Koroi gave the home side a key advantage, especially after former darling of Forsyth Barr Stadium, wing Waisake Naholo had looked to cut loose for Taranaki. Two breaks created two chances, only the second one taken by lock Mitchell Brown after halfback Tahuriorangi Te Toiroa dropped the ball on the goaline. Taranaki stayed in the hunt but Nareki again, and the goal-kicking boot of Koroi over-rode the late tries for first five-eighths Stephen Perofeta and second five-eighths Tei Walden.

Scorers: Otago 35 (Aleki Morris, Jona Nareki 2, Vilimoni Koroi ; Koroi 3 con, 3 pen) Taranaki 27 (Mitchell Brown, Stephen Perofeta, Teihorangi Walden tries; Daniel Waite 3 con, 2pen). HT: 17-13